Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

Evolution Compact Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}

Evolution Compact Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}
Select an Option:
214.00
In Stock
Out of Stock

The Evolution Compact® garbage disposal is perfect for small households and houses with restricted cabinet space.

The space saving design provides a perfect fit for smaller households or families who don't cook as much. The InSinkErator Evolution Compact garbage disposal is powerful enough to grind foods such as potato peels and carrot peels, while still delivering quiet performance versus a standard disposal.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • SoundSeal® Technology delivers quiet performance versus a standard disposer
  • MultiGrind® Technology delivers two stages of grind and allows you to more efficiently grind difficult food items like bones
  • 3/4 Horsepower Dura-Drive® Induction Motor is engineered to specifications used for appliance motors, provides quiet operation and long life
  • 34.6 oz. Grind Chamber and Stainless Steel Grind Components for durability
  • Made in the USA
  • InSinkErator 4-Year We Come To You® In-Home Full Service Limited Warranty Covers parts and labor
  • Quick Lock® Sink Mount allows for easy installation and disposer replacement

Specifications

Type of Feed Continuous
On/Off Control Wall Switch
Motor Single Phase
HP 3/4
Volts 120
HZ 60
RPM 1725
Amp. (Avg. Load) 8.1
Time Rating Intermittent
Lubrication Permanently Lubricated Upper & Lower Bearing
Shipping Weight (Approx.) 19.5 lbs.
Unit Finish Black Enamel/Gray
Overall Height 12-1/8"
SoundSeal Technology Anti-Vibration Mount™, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount™, Quiet Collar™ Sink Baffle, Multi-Layer SoundLimiter™ Insulation
MultiGrind Technology GrindShear Ring®
Grind Chamber Capacity 34.6 oz.
Motor Protection Manual Reset Overload
Average Water Usage Approx. 1 Gallon Per Person Per Day
Average Electrical Usage 3-4 KWH Per Year
Drain Connection 1-1/2" Anti-Vibration (Hose Clamp)
Dishwasher Drain Connection Yes

Reviews / Q&A

Evolution Compact is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1631.
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1631
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 109ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This garbage disposal works great. I highly recommend it. I'm glad I got the 3/4 horse. It really eats up the the food.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quite operation The water running in the sink (which is not very loud at all) is more loud than this unit. We had our contractor install the unit during the kitchen remodel. We are happy with this garbage disposal unit - works great !!!
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow Wow this disposer is ver y very quiet to the point of remembering to turn it off. at this point it seems to take any food items we through at it . We really do like it money well spent. Fair price from Home Depot
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to install, quiet operation, good performance! Our old Insinkerator finally bit the dust, after 18 years, I might add, so we wanted to get another one. We were really impressed with the quiet operation of this unit! Definitely would recommend this model!
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best one ever, has defiantly been put to the test It is the toughest disposal I have ever used , and super quiet too
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Great unit, Low noise, small compact size [height],
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact, quiet, and effective The Evolution Compact Food Waste Disposer was an excellent replacement for our old InSinkerator Badger. It fit neatly into the same area, looks modernly designed, and runs very quiet. The customer service was great when I called to replace the old one, shipping was quick and meant a minimum of down-time, and the plumber knew the quality of the product immediately and easily installed it.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product ok but watch out for installer... This was a replaement. Last one lasted 6 years. Purchased new one from Amazon, with installation. Their installer did not know what they were doing. They left the knockout for dishwasher in place and caused a flood, Had to hire a local plumber to correct problem. Amazon said it wuold take a week to put through a "claim" to correct problem. Amazon would only pay the difference between the cost of our plumber and their installation price. DO NOT USE AMAZON FOR ANY INSTALLATIONS.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Excellent garbage disposal. Easy to install. Very quiet when running.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from world like a charm! Easy, quiet and we don't have to think about it at all.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Garbage grinder Very quiet machine. So far works great. No problems
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So quiet compared to our 10 yr old unit Evolution model was recommended by our plumber..professionally installed it took maybe 1/2 hour..It's very quiet when doing it's job. Found the price to be fair at local Big Box store. Has a good warranty, but doubt it will ever be needed.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet This disposal is a lot more quiet than my old one.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent choice Replaced fairly new but very loud unit.......this one is very quiet, very effective and very easy to clean and maintain.........highly recommend
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Of the past 4 disposals I've owned over the past 17 years, this is the best. It is very quiet to the point that you can barely tell it's on. Easy installation and comes with parts needed. A feature I like on this one is the rubber flapper in the sink is removable for easy access when cleaning, etc. Great product.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet unit and reliable brand. Our previous Insinkerator lasted more than 16 years. It probably could have been repaired but the cost of a repair would have been at least as much as installation of a new unit. We decided to spend more for the quieter model. It was a big price difference but not when you think about living with the noise for 16 years. The Amazon installer was great, reasonably priced, and no hassle.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's so quite! I like how well built it is. This should last quite a few years.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product, it does the job very quietly. I did not install to unit. Overall it seems like a very good, quiet disposal.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet. All went well for installation. My only problem was your line cord. I had to call to find out hot vs ground since both lines were black. You might tag the stripped leads for less confusion.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Works great, very quiet. Fits very well under the kitchen sink.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet Wanted a quiet disposal and this one sure is. I'm very satisfied.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Careful it,s quiet! Works well. Getting used to the pleasantness of the quieter running machine. Our 12 year old Insinkerator "builders model" was very rugged sounding. Love the ability to pull out rubber ring to clean often. A real plus. The installation was easy because our plumber is reasonable and informative. He stressed "ONLY EDIBLES"
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whisper quiet. Great upgrade to my garbage disposal. Replaced my 1/2 hp insinkerator with the new 3/4 hp unit. Easy to install and runs super quiet. Great unit to use for our septic system.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love it! Our second disposal from you. The last one we had for years and it worked so well for us. This latest model is much quieter and quick. Good value. Would highly recommend this product. Very easy to install your self.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact, Quiet, Powerful It is compact, so it will fit in a smaller space. It is also quiet and powerful. I definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Pleasing Addition... Have only been using this product for 3 weeks. Installation was Quick/Easy. Previously used a "Badger 1" unit that often locked up not to mention was VERY noisy. Once installed and I tried it, I couldn't believe how quiet it is. If I were to criticize this unit at all, I would comment that the 'Quiet Collar' impedes water from draining a bit. I've overcome this by using a drain strainer that pushes the collar down slightly.. Drainage is much better now.. Given my limited time to use this product, initial thoughts are VERY POSITIVE..
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Quiet!! Wow! So quiet ! My plumber was right. Get the insulated one , well worth the extra cost. You can't go wrong and you will notice the difference. The running water is louder than this disposal.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Evolution Very quiet and so far I've had no problems. Very easy installation.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Upgrade Easy install since it replaced a 10 year old Insinkerator unit. Other than one of the two wires inside the housing being damaged I had no issues. Unit is much quieter than previous model and we’re very satisfied with our decision to spend a little more.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great unit. Quiet and compact. It installed easily and has handled everything well so far.
Date published: 2017-05-02
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1631
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

When during installation is the sink baffle attached?

Asked by: CandyLand
At the very end, it goes in from above the sink and down. Takes 10 sec to put in.
Answered by: Engoil
Date published: 2017-03-25

Why does the drain rubber point up?

Just installed mine, just wondering why the drain rubber points up. seems like it would be harder to get food into it? I haven't tried yet
Asked by: Long
You have it upside down. Turn it over.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

When a run my disposal there is a lot of vibration. This just started a couple months ago!

The disposal still is grinding but the vibration shakes both my sinks.
Asked by: SusieK
Same problem for us. One of the metal pieces that grinds up the waste had broken--a part that cannot be replaced. Replaced the entire disposal. Problem solved!
Answered by: Shoulders52
Date published: 2017-04-08

Does the Evolution Compact use a smaller size stopper versus the standard size disposers?

I need to order a stopper for the compact but feel the opening appears smaller than the norm and would require a slightly smaller stopper. Is this correct? Is there a part number I could get?
Asked by: mrs4148
The stopper for our new one was the exact same as our previous Insinkerator model.
Answered by: richjh
Date published: 2017-05-06

When during the installation does the sink baffle get installed?

Asked by: CandyLand
After installed, just slide into opening. Removable when needed.
Answered by: TWISTEDWHIG
Date published: 2017-05-13

My Evolution Compact was very quiet. It still works but is making noise.

Asked by: Alresidue
You might have something stuck in it. Look very carefully inside the top and look for anything that might not belong. Could be something steel or plastic and may be a small piece. If you have to remove the unit to look do that but do not turn it on, disconnect or unplug the unit before removing or putting anything in it.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-03-24

was getting the usual sound when I push the button "on" and after using wrench to unjam now when I push the on button nothing happens

Asked by: doodlebug
You probably have a foreign object, i.e. spoon, knife in the disposal.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

Why will dishwasher not drain when hose is connected to the disposer?

I replaced a badger model disposer with a Evolution Spacesaver model. Now the dishwasher will not drain when the hose os connected to the disposer. If I disconnect the dishwasher drain hose from the disposer it will drain with no problem.
Asked by: Greenjeep
Sounds like you didn't punch out the plug in the fitting where the dishwasher drain hose attaches to the disposer. Reread the installation instructions.
Answered by: Sambo913
Date published: 2017-02-04

can you instal this without a wall button, just a top activated?

Asked by: yann
No, it requires power connected to an outlet, with switch to activate. Always run water while in operation.
Answered by: ruukasu0808
Date published: 2017-01-14

where do i find the size demensions

Asked by: eductor
If you didn't save your previous manual, look at your disposal and you will get the info you need.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

How wide is the mouth at the top of the disposal?

Does it fit with any size sink opening?
Asked by: litlmisundrstd86
Just about 3 1/4 inch wide at the top, and It fits the standard Kitchen sink drain opening, 3 1/2 inch diameter.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-03-24

Can you come straight out of the tail pipe to the discharge line and not use the 90?

Asked by: Trudy
Yes you can as long as it lines up. There is no pipe attached.
Answered by: ooley
Date published: 2017-02-18

Yesterday, the water in the sink started to drain very slowly, as if a drain is clogged. What should I do?

The only thing I can think of that might have clogged it was some cooked kale (about 1 cup) I ground recently. Should I use a chemical drain clog remover?
Asked by: Callie
remove the connection to the drain at the disposer. probably hair,strings, fat or other stuff right there blocking the drain.
Answered by: hairy
Date published: 2017-03-18

need partfor 3/4 HP compact

INSINKERATOR EVOLUTION 3/4 HP. I need a anti vibration tail peice mount,where can I buy one???
Asked by: DARTTARI
Home Depot, or at least they should be able to point you in the right direction. They have always been a GREAT help to me in the past.
Answered by: Pete55
Date published: 2014-02-15

My insinkerator Evolution Compact is leaking at the tailpipe mount area.

The tailpipe mount appears to be cracked, but I think that the discharge from the container body/motor joint is also causing problems. It looks like the discharge is now misshapen.
Asked by: St3v3
Sounds like your flex coupler cracked (75499 Flex Coupler for InSinkErator Evolution Series Disposer, Flexible Rubber Coupling, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount)
Answered by: JoshInPortland
Date published: 2017-01-07

where can I get a replacement Quiet Collar Sink Baffle?

It is an evolution spacesaver model
Asked by: Jackyone
You should be able to get a new baffle at any hardware store or home improvement store. Or you could try online sites.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-03-24

We had unit installed by Home Depot, but they failed to place the S/N info on unit. How can we check warranty?

Asked by: golflady
I had to find the serial number on my unit in order to register the product. It is on the unit - thank God for cell phones. There is a metal plate on the disposer. Take a picture of the unit and expand the picture to read the serial number.
Answered by: Meg69
Date published: 2017-05-13

can this model handle banana skins

Asked by: GregL
Yes
Answered by: Alaskan
Date published: 2017-05-06

LOUD intermitent BANGing...

Grinds and disposes of waste properly, motor spins freely, nothing visible in chamber,no leaks,and has never tripped the reset button,,, but the loud banging keeps my wife from using it. Sounds like it is coming apart inside but the unusual thing is, the bang is not constant, meaning it is not a steady ryhtymic banging, it can happen at start up or after a few seconds. We have had this product aprox 11 months. And with this being one of your "better" product lines we are highly dissatisfied with the product,especially if you consider the cost of the "evolution" series Please Help
Asked by: Krul1
Did you properly remove the plug from the disposal that is there for the dishwasher line? Sounds like you have something in the disposal.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE COMPACT AND THE COMPACT PRO

Asked by: SAFEJUNK
1 in shorter and 1 inch smaller in diameter, as well 3/4 HP compared to 1HP
Answered by: ChicagoRunner
Date published: 2016-02-17

The outlet gasket connecting to my drain pipe has ruptured.

How can I purchase a replacement? This is a Insinkerator piece! I need one immediately! Thank you! Tom
Asked by: tomd
You should be able to find a replacement at any hardware store or Home improvement store. You may have to take the old one in to be sure it is the same size.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-03-24

What is the diameter of the flange opening? I want to confirm the size of opening i need in my sink bowl.

Asked by: tk1234
The unit fits to the standard size sink opening
Answered by: DThiems725
Date published: 2017-05-20

what minimum clearance is required between the bottom of the disposal and the bottom of the cabinet?

very deep sink leaving little room for the disposal
Asked by: lawebs
From bottom of sink to bottom of unit is 13". You would need a few more inches to maneuver I suppose.
Answered by: Gnd60
Date published: 2017-02-25

Why won"t the garbage grind and dispose?

The motor runs, the teeth turn, water flows freely, but the garbage won't grind up. We tried cleaning with baking soda and water solution with no help. Unit is 4 years old.
Asked by: Professor
Sounds like the impellers might be hung up. They should be loose on their pins.
Answered by: Hatter
Date published: 2016-11-19

Comparison between Evolution Compact and Evolution Essential

I searched in vain for a direct comparison of your individual models, then compared the pdf spec sheets for these two. It looks like the only differences are a smaller grind chamber and a shorter in-home warranty (4 years versus 6). The space savings seems to be 3/4" in diameter and 1/2" in height, which produce the smaller grind chamber dimensions. Are there any other differences between these models? Thanks- Bob
Asked by: TheBob
I believe that if you go to the Home Depot website you can choose the two that you are interested in and click on 'compare'. It will bring up a chart with the two you selected and you can see which one fits your needs. Hope that this helps!
Answered by: Red1944
Date published: 2016-02-17

Water doesn't drain completely from the disposer after it's used.

We're told this is due to the disposal being lower than the drain piple. Is there any chance that replacing the current disposal with a compact model would make a difference by raising the level of the disposal? This came up during a kitchen remodeling.
Asked by: rabbit
I had that problem with my old insinkerator. The exit on the new Evolution Compact was slightly higher than the old one and it solved the problem.
Answered by: Hatter
Date published: 2016-11-19

Is the home depot evolution select a comparable model to this?

I currently have a badger 1 and it needs to be replaced. Home depot sells the evolution compact but it is not sold in their stores for some reason. They do have the evolution select in stores. Would this be a comparable model to the badger 1 that I currently have?
Asked by: KPRO
The Badger is junk. The stainless Evolution I bought is a one horsepower unit. I made my purchase online. The store didn't carry it
Answered by: BigAl2
Date published: 2016-07-16

can this unit be installed on a fire clay farm sink with the long flange

Asked by: nict
I would imagine that as long as the opening is the same size and the sink is strong enough to support the weight of the disposal you could install it under your sink. It is a very quiet unit with very little vibration.... Will be interested if it works for you. You can contact me through the same place you submitted your question. Hope that this helps you!
Answered by: Red1944
Date published: 2015-08-22

Replacement

Installed 5 years ago a "Space Saver-P(?). S/N 09041683946. Need to buy a new one. Need to buy a unit that matches with the existing mounting ring; new mounting ring to difficult to install. Recommend a disposal. Compact size important.
Asked by: Eugen
Go to Home Depot, they will solve your problem.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

I currently have a Badger 1(1/3 horsepower) Can I replace it with any of the evolution series

Asked by: BobM
Yes all disposal brands have same mounts Very simple swap out
Answered by: Tomorrow
Date published: 2016-06-25
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_83
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT