Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

Evolution Compact Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}

Evolution Compact Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}
214.00
In Stock
Out of Stock

The Evolution Compact® garbage disposal is perfect for small households and houses with restricted cabinet space.

The space saving design provides a perfect fit for smaller households or families who don't cook as much. The InSinkErator Evolution Compact garbage disposal is powerful enough to grind foods such as potato peels and carrot peels, while still delivering quiet performance versus a standard disposal.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • SoundSeal® Technology delivers quiet performance versus a standard disposer
  • MultiGrind® Technology delivers two stages of grind and allows you to more efficiently grind difficult food items like bones
  • 3/4 Horsepower Dura-Drive® Induction Motor is engineered to specifications used for appliance motors, provides quiet operation and long life
  • 34.6 oz. Grind Chamber and Stainless Steel Grind Components for durability
  • Assembled in USA with American Pride
  • InSinkErator 4-Year We Come To You® In-Home Full Service Limited Warranty Covers parts and labor
  • Quick Lock® Sink Mount allows for easy installation and disposer replacement

Specifications

Type of Feed Continuous
On/Off Control Wall Switch
Motor Single Phase
HP 3/4
Volts 120
HZ 60
RPM 1725
Amp. (Avg. Load) 8.1
Time Rating Intermittent
Lubrication Permanently Lubricated Upper & Lower Bearing
Shipping Weight (Approx.) 19.5 lbs.
Unit Finish Black Enamel/Gray
Overall Height 12-1/8"
SoundSeal Technology Anti-Vibration Mount™, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount™, Quiet Collar™ Sink Baffle, Multi-Layer SoundLimiter™ Insulation
MultiGrind Technology GrindShear Ring®
Grind Chamber Capacity 34.6 oz.
Motor Protection Manual Reset Overload
Average Water Usage Approx. 1 Gallon Per Person Per Day
Average Electrical Usage 3-4 KWH Per Year
Drain Connection 1-1/2" Anti-Vibration (Hose Clamp)
Dishwasher Drain Connection Yes

Reviews / Q&A

Evolution Compact is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1972.
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1972
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 187ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excelent operation a bit heavy to install but line up the unit with the bracket and twist connect drain and dishwasher hose and your finished. runs nice and quiet hardly know its working.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet and reliable This is my 3rd insinkerator. I've been very satisfied with its performance and especially its noise suppression. The only thing I'm not too crazy about is the size of the stopper. It's a bit difficult to store swing that I don't have a lot of counter room.
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, compact Worth the upgrade, and recommended for others Fits well Easy
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is by far the best disposal I've ever owned. I've always had insinkerator, but this is absolutely amazing. It is perfection. I can't begin to say enough good things about it. Thanks for making a great product!
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing special Not any better than the 10 year old Kenmore which died and was replaced. It splashes up a lot even with the guard in place, Quiet when just water running but much noisier when actually has work to do. It does the job but over priced for what it is. The only reason I bought this unit was it is short in height and could be installed without opening up the wall and changing the pipe.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Very easy install especially for someone as myself who is not considered 'handy'. My wife is still shocked that she hasn't had to call the plumber to go 'behind' my work. Love the quality and efficiency of the product. I have already recommended this to friends and family. Easily one of my best purchases of the year.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worthwhile Investement Purchased this newer model to replace the equivalent older model that had begun to leak. (To its credit, our previous Insinkerator was 10+ yrs. old). Installation was relatively simple. I have a hard-wired application. Most difficult part is prob. lifting the unit into place and attaching to the sink. And as along your drain pipes don't beed modification to align w the disposal drain connections - you're set! Unit is quiet during operation. Appears to chop things up quite well. Only been about 1 mo. since install. But, so far I feel it's a worthwhile investment. ;)
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid unit The unit runs relatively quietly. It seems well constructed.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant Nice and quiet. Much better then the one that was here when the house was built,
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product was very easy to install and is very quiet.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very efficient and relatively quiet unit. The plumber was pleased that this unit had been selected, made his job easy. We have noticed that it is much quieter than our previous Badger unit. That one worked well but was starting to show signs of internal rust so, a kitchen upgrade seemed a good time to upgrade.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product works great so far I bought a garbage disposal because my other one broke. I picked an Insinkerater because it was the best of the few choices I had at the big box store. I was impressed with the ease of installation and the motor is much more quite then my old one. So far, so good. Now, I'd like to see how long it lasts.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We really like the power and low noise We replaced a 12 year old Insinkerator with an Evolution Compact. Wow! What a pleasant surprise. We noticed from the first time we used it to grind up waste the power and reduced noise. We feel the extra we paid to up-grade to the Evolution was a good decision.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quite pleased with product Compactor is quite when running, very quite when in operation.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect - Evolution Compact Easy to in stall. This unit is quiet and will eat just about anything in a hurry.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet efficiency What a great appliance. Size is perfect for small cabinet of corner sink. Plumber that did installation admitted that this was his favorite disposal. Extremely quiet operation and very fast.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, so quiet! Purchased disposer to replace a five year old one that kept jamming.... Had no idea that there could be such an improvement in disposals. It's so quiet can barely hear it running! We use it every day and love how great it grinds up whatever we put down. Installed with included plug and plumbed into the existing pipes. It's kinda heavy so an extra set of hands helps with that part. Highly recommended
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good disposal, not great We opted for this garbage disposal over another because our plumber encouraged us to get stainless steel. At first the disposal worked great and was very quiet. After several weeks I started noticing the sink backing up a bit more frequently, so that's something we'll have to look into considering all of our plumbing is brand new. Regardless, I haven't noticed any odors and its' definitely quieter than others I've had.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was very easy to install even with the changes made from 17 years ago. My first Evolution Compact lasted 17 years. That's good with the way everything is made to be replaced lately.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Nice quiet machine. Operates very efficiently. Installer had no problem putting the insinkertor in.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Evolution Disposer - Happy Wife, Happy Life My wife uses the disposer not me and she is very happy with its performance. The first time it was turned on is all it took, due to how quiet it operated, to please her with the new Evolution. Also since it was made in the U.S.A. that too contributed to our choosing the Evolution.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from powerful and quite Great disposal with lots of power to grind waste and very quiet
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I did not install this item. I bought a new construction and it was installed by the contractor. The product seems to be good, although I have not used it a lot. This is a seasonal house and I am not there all the time.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light and Powerful I thought the Evolution was too small and light to do an efficient job grinding waste into a liquid that could be flushed down the drainage system without eventually clogging up the system. However, the Evolution proved to be powerful with its 3/4 horsepower motor and it is quiet. There is almost no vibration as it grinds waste products, which is much better than my previous garbage disposal. Over time, I think will be one of my best purchases, it really has performed well since it has been installed. I've had my Evolution for approximately 45 days and it is worth the purchase and installation wait.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So quiet! It works well and it is very quiet, which I really like.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite and Small takes up less space under cabinet and is quite. The plummer indicated it was easy to install.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So quiet you hardly hear it We had an Insinkorator previously that was in place when the house was built in 1992. A piece sheered off and we had to replace it. We ordered it online and it was very easy for my husband to install. When we used it, we found it so quiet. Love it!
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, works fine. Had a bit of a problem getting the unit into the connecting ring; but that was mostly because of crammed quarters and being an 87 year old guy thinking he still had it!
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So good, so far. We've only had it installed for about a month, but it seems to work well. We upgraded to the 1 hp model, but I'm a little Leary of putting things like banana peels or melon rinds, etc. in there. We'll see.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wondeful quiet disposal This garbage disposal takes food disposal to a new level! It is so quiet, we are actually afraid we will forget we turned it on. But, it is also powerful and so far we are very happy with it.
Date published: 2017-08-31
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1972
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

When during installation is the sink baffle attached?

Asked by: CandyLand
At the very end, it goes in from above the sink and down. Takes 10 sec to put in.
Answered by: Engoil
Date published: 2017-03-25

Why does the drain rubber point up?

Just installed mine, just wondering why the drain rubber points up. seems like it would be harder to get food into it? I haven't tried yet
Asked by: Long
You have it upside down. Turn it over.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

When a run my disposal there is a lot of vibration. This just started a couple months ago!

The disposal still is grinding but the vibration shakes both my sinks.
Asked by: SusieK
Same problem for us. One of the metal pieces that grinds up the waste had broken--a part that cannot be replaced. Replaced the entire disposal. Problem solved!
Answered by: Shoulders52
Date published: 2017-04-08

Does the Evolution Compact use a smaller size stopper versus the standard size disposers?

I need to order a stopper for the compact but feel the opening appears smaller than the norm and would require a slightly smaller stopper. Is this correct? Is there a part number I could get?
Asked by: mrs4148
The stopper for our new one was the exact same as our previous Insinkerator model.
Answered by: richjh
Date published: 2017-05-06

When during the installation does the sink baffle get installed?

Asked by: CandyLand
After installed, just slide into opening. Removable when needed.
Answered by: TWISTEDWHIG
Date published: 2017-05-13

My Evolution Compact was very quiet. It still works but is making noise.

Asked by: Alresidue
You might have something stuck in it. Look very carefully inside the top and look for anything that might not belong. Could be something steel or plastic and may be a small piece. If you have to remove the unit to look do that but do not turn it on, disconnect or unplug the unit before removing or putting anything in it.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-05-27

was getting the usual sound when I push the button "on" and after using wrench to unjam now when I push the on button nothing happens

Asked by: doodlebug
You probably have a foreign object, i.e. spoon, knife in the disposal.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

Why will dishwasher not drain when hose is connected to the disposer?

I replaced a badger model disposer with a Evolution Spacesaver model. Now the dishwasher will not drain when the hose os connected to the disposer. If I disconnect the dishwasher drain hose from the disposer it will drain with no problem.
Asked by: Greenjeep
Sounds like you didn't punch out the plug in the fitting where the dishwasher drain hose attaches to the disposer. Reread the installation instructions.
Answered by: Sambo913
Date published: 2017-02-04

can you instal this without a wall button, just a top activated?

Asked by: yann
No, it requires power connected to an outlet, with switch to activate. Always run water while in operation.
Answered by: ruukasu0808
Date published: 2017-01-14

where do i find the size demensions

Asked by: eductor
If you didn't save your previous manual, look at your disposal and you will get the info you need.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

How wide is the mouth at the top of the disposal?

Does it fit with any size sink opening?
Asked by: litlmisundrstd86
Just about 3 1/4 inch wide at the top, and It fits the standard Kitchen sink drain opening, 3 1/2 inch diameter.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-05-27

Can you come straight out of the tail pipe to the discharge line and not use the 90?

Asked by: Trudy
Yes you can as long as it lines up. There is no pipe attached.
Answered by: ooley
Date published: 2017-02-18

Yesterday, the water in the sink started to drain very slowly, as if a drain is clogged. What should I do?

The only thing I can think of that might have clogged it was some cooked kale (about 1 cup) I ground recently. Should I use a chemical drain clog remover?
Asked by: Callie
remove the connection to the drain at the disposer. probably hair,strings, fat or other stuff right there blocking the drain.
Answered by: hairy
Date published: 2017-03-18

need partfor 3/4 HP compact

INSINKERATOR EVOLUTION 3/4 HP. I need a anti vibration tail peice mount,where can I buy one???
Asked by: DARTTARI
Home Depot, or at least they should be able to point you in the right direction. They have always been a GREAT help to me in the past.
Answered by: Pete55
Date published: 2014-02-15

My insinkerator Evolution Compact is leaking at the tailpipe mount area.

The tailpipe mount appears to be cracked, but I think that the discharge from the container body/motor joint is also causing problems. It looks like the discharge is now misshapen.
Asked by: St3v3
Sounds like your flex coupler cracked (75499 Flex Coupler for InSinkErator Evolution Series Disposer, Flexible Rubber Coupling, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount)
Answered by: JoshInPortland
Date published: 2017-01-07

where can I get a replacement Quiet Collar Sink Baffle?

It is an evolution spacesaver model
Asked by: Jackyone
You should be able to get a new baffle at any hardware store or home improvement store. Or you could try online sites.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-05-27

We had unit installed by Home Depot, but they failed to place the S/N info on unit. How can we check warranty?

Asked by: golflady
I had to find the serial number on my unit in order to register the product. It is on the unit - thank God for cell phones. There is a metal plate on the disposer. Take a picture of the unit and expand the picture to read the serial number.
Answered by: Meg69
Date published: 2017-05-13

can this model handle banana skins

Asked by: GregL
Yes
Answered by: Alaskan
Date published: 2017-05-06

LOUD intermitent BANGing...

Grinds and disposes of waste properly, motor spins freely, nothing visible in chamber,no leaks,and has never tripped the reset button,,, but the loud banging keeps my wife from using it. Sounds like it is coming apart inside but the unusual thing is, the bang is not constant, meaning it is not a steady ryhtymic banging, it can happen at start up or after a few seconds. We have had this product aprox 11 months. And with this being one of your "better" product lines we are highly dissatisfied with the product,especially if you consider the cost of the "evolution" series Please Help
Asked by: Krul1
Did you properly remove the plug from the disposal that is there for the dishwasher line? Sounds like you have something in the disposal.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE COMPACT AND THE COMPACT PRO

Asked by: SAFEJUNK
1 in shorter and 1 inch smaller in diameter, as well 3/4 HP compared to 1HP
Answered by: ChicagoRunner
Date published: 2016-02-17

The outlet gasket connecting to my drain pipe has ruptured.

How can I purchase a replacement? This is a Insinkerator piece! I need one immediately! Thank you! Tom
Asked by: tomd
You should be able to find a replacement at any hardware store or Home improvement store. You may have to take the old one in to be sure it is the same size.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-05-27

What is the diameter of the flange opening? I want to confirm the size of opening i need in my sink bowl.

Asked by: tk1234
The unit fits to the standard size sink opening
Answered by: DThiems725
Date published: 2017-05-20

what minimum clearance is required between the bottom of the disposal and the bottom of the cabinet?

very deep sink leaving little room for the disposal
Asked by: lawebs
From bottom of sink to bottom of unit is 13". You would need a few more inches to maneuver I suppose.
Answered by: Gnd60
Date published: 2017-02-25

Why won"t the garbage grind and dispose?

The motor runs, the teeth turn, water flows freely, but the garbage won't grind up. We tried cleaning with baking soda and water solution with no help. Unit is 4 years old.
Asked by: Professor
Sounds like the impellers might be hung up. They should be loose on their pins.
Answered by: Hatter
Date published: 2016-11-19

What is the peak Amperage of the Evolution Compact disposer?

Asked by: Mike101
8.1 per the insinkerator web page
Answered by: mvpmich
Date published: 2017-07-28

Comparison between Evolution Compact and Evolution Essential

I searched in vain for a direct comparison of your individual models, then compared the pdf spec sheets for these two. It looks like the only differences are a smaller grind chamber and a shorter in-home warranty (4 years versus 6). The space savings seems to be 3/4" in diameter and 1/2" in height, which produce the smaller grind chamber dimensions. Are there any other differences between these models? Thanks- Bob
Asked by: TheBob
I believe that if you go to the Home Depot website you can choose the two that you are interested in and click on 'compare'. It will bring up a chart with the two you selected and you can see which one fits your needs. Hope that this helps!
Answered by: Red1944
Date published: 2016-02-17

Water doesn't drain completely from the disposer after it's used.

We're told this is due to the disposal being lower than the drain piple. Is there any chance that replacing the current disposal with a compact model would make a difference by raising the level of the disposal? This came up during a kitchen remodeling.
Asked by: rabbit
I had that problem with my old insinkerator. The exit on the new Evolution Compact was slightly higher than the old one and it solved the problem.
Answered by: Hatter
Date published: 2016-11-19

Is the home depot evolution select a comparable model to this?

I currently have a badger 1 and it needs to be replaced. Home depot sells the evolution compact but it is not sold in their stores for some reason. They do have the evolution select in stores. Would this be a comparable model to the badger 1 that I currently have?
Asked by: KPRO
The Badger is junk. The stainless Evolution I bought is a one horsepower unit. I made my purchase online. The store didn't carry it
Answered by: BigAl2
Date published: 2016-07-16

can this unit be installed on a fire clay farm sink with the long flange

Asked by: nict
I would imagine that as long as the opening is the same size and the sink is strong enough to support the weight of the disposal you could install it under your sink. It is a very quiet unit with very little vibration.... Will be interested if it works for you. You can contact me through the same place you submitted your question. Hope that this helps you!
Answered by: Red1944
Date published: 2015-08-22

Replacement

Installed 5 years ago a "Space Saver-P(?). S/N 09041683946. Need to buy a new one. Need to buy a unit that matches with the existing mounting ring; new mounting ring to difficult to install. Recommend a disposal. Compact size important.
Asked by: Eugen
Go to Home Depot, they will solve your problem.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_86
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT