Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

Evolution Compact Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}

Evolution Compact Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}
214.00
In Stock
Out of Stock

The Evolution Compact® garbage disposal is perfect for small households and houses with restricted cabinet space.

The space saving design provides a perfect fit for smaller households or families who don't cook as much. The InSinkErator Evolution Compact garbage disposal is powerful enough to grind foods such as potato peels and carrot peels, while still delivering quiet performance versus a standard disposal.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • SoundSeal® Technology delivers quiet performance versus a standard disposer
  • MultiGrind® Technology delivers two stages of grind and allows you to more efficiently grind difficult food items like bones
  • 3/4 Horsepower Dura-Drive® Induction Motor is engineered to specifications used for appliance motors, provides quiet operation and long life
  • 34.6 oz. Grind Chamber and Stainless Steel Grind Components for durability
  • Assembled in USA with American Pride
  • InSinkErator 4-Year We Come To You® In-Home Full Service Limited Warranty Covers parts and labor
  • Quick Lock® Sink Mount allows for easy installation and disposer replacement

Specifications

Type of Feed Continuous
On/Off Control Wall Switch
Motor Single Phase
HP 3/4
Volts 120
HZ 60
RPM 1725
Amp. (Avg. Load) 8.1
Time Rating Intermittent
Lubrication Permanently Lubricated Upper & Lower Bearing
Shipping Weight (Approx.) 19.5 lbs.
Unit Finish Black Enamel/Gray
Overall Height 12-1/8"
SoundSeal Technology Anti-Vibration Mount™, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount™, Quiet Collar™ Sink Baffle, Multi-Layer SoundLimiter™ Insulation
MultiGrind Technology GrindShear Ring®
Grind Chamber Capacity 34.6 oz.
Motor Protection Manual Reset Overload
Average Water Usage Approx. 1 Gallon Per Person Per Day
Average Electrical Usage 3-4 KWH Per Year
Drain Connection 1-1/2" Anti-Vibration (Hose Clamp)
Dishwasher Drain Connection Yes

Reviews / Q&A

Evolution Compact is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 2061.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_2061
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 140ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product meets my expectations Contractor recommended to replace my disposer when remodeling my kitchen. This is the model I had prior and got the same as I was very happy with it
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whisper quiet, minimum vibration, grinds extremely fast This disposal is awesome. It was easy to install )except for the fact you do not get a new jumper wire to the outlet and had to use my old one). The operation of the unit is very quiet and has minimal vibration. It grinds up fast and efficiently.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noisier than the 3/4 HP I had from ~ 2003 till Now!!! It's Noisier than the 3/4 HP I had from ~ 2003 till Now!!!
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Can Only Hope it Lasts as Long as the Unit it Replaced I bought the Evolution Compact to replace an Insinkerator unit I purchased twenty five years ago to replace the builder's spec disposal installed when the house was built. After twenty five years, something solid went through it, got trapped between the hammers and the housing, and punched a dime-sized hole in the housing. Other than that issue, and the corresponding putrid mess under the sink (I didn't notice it immediately) this old disposal just kept chugging along and would have been good for more service. I figured if the last one was that good, this one should be expected to be as good as if not better. I got the Evolution because I've moved up and can now afford the higher line product and feel that my labor is more valuable with time. I will admit that the instructions regarding the rubber insert in the drain were less than clear and that the picture did not clearly show that the insert was to be merely inserted in the drain once the disposal was hung. I guess my confusion may have come from my previous disposal, where this insert had a flange that mounted between the disposal and the sink basket and was firmly clamped in place during hanging the disposal. I'm not crazy about the flexible connector on the drain line. No doubt, this feature was added as an insulation feature to further reduce the noise; but I doubt that it will hold up for twenty five years or more. Insinkerator-you set the bar high and the Evolution will have a hard time meeting expectations.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased We built our home 3 yrs ago. Don't know exactly what kind of disposal was put in but it was not very efficient and was loud. One night noticed the disposal was leaking around the outside under the sink. Plumber came and said since it was leaking around the outside he would recommend a new one. We agreed and he bought and installed the insinkerator. Love it. More powerful and cannot hardly hear it running.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet and powerful This disposer replaced an old unit. I am impressed how quiet it is and the speed and efficiency with which it disposes of kitchen waste. My old one could hardly grind lemon peels; this one grinds everything, and in short order! I have only had it for a couple of months, so I do not know about its longevity yet, but it appears to be of good quality materials and craftsmanship.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and quiet This was my first time replacing a garbage disposal and it was a pretty seamless process. The Insinkerator is so quite and breaks up the food so quickly. I will never go back.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the disposal to buy! I've had and purchased various brands of disposals over the years and they just weren't how I thought a disposal should work. I always wanted an Insinkerator but in the end I spent less money. This time I was determined to get the brand and size I wanted and ended up with the Insinkerator Evolution Compact. We put in a huge sink in the new kitchen and this disposal fit perfectly. It installs easily and runs very quietly. No problems with grinding everything up. It's all you could ask for in a disposal for a decent price.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a champ Had an Insinkerator that worked for 20+ years…when it finally died it was replaced by another brand. After 3 breakdowns, including a blown out pipe, I had our plumber put in a new Insinkerator. Happily grinding away, no more fear of failure.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet operation As part of a purchase of our new home we elected to replace the disposal unit due to loud noise. We had previous experience with the Evolution product and elected to use it as the replacement
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great disposal This disposal not only preforms well, it is one of the quietest disposals I have ever owned. Well worth the investment.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install & quiet! We purchased a house with a garbage disposal installed after never having one before. We used it infrequently, and eventually, the motor seized and then started corroding and leaking water from the bottom. We decided to replace the garbage disposal rather than remove it, as it seemed like the best solution. We also decided to upgrade to the all stainless steel version, to avoid the corrosion issue with the InSinkErator unit being replaced. A friend of mine installed it and had very little problems doing so. It's very quiet and has been working great so far!
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from runs good, quiet unless there is something real chunky to be copped up. Our plumber installed our Evolution Compact and he recommended it.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the quiet sound This unit replaced a 1974 unit which sounded like always, but this doesn't vibrate enough to cause silverware to rattle in the stainless sink or water to vibrate in a glass. I LOVE IT!!!!
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very reliable I have always used Insinkerator garbage disposals . When I brought my new home there was a small off brand disposal installed. It lasts just over 2 years. This is what I replaced it with. I am very happy with mt choice..
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is very quiet This product was easy to install and also very quiet compared to the previous garbage disposal I had. This product is whisper quiet. The instructions were easy to follow
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has great features Easy to install and well made. Well worth the money
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for tight space it was easy to install...fit nicely as this is a corner sink...fairly quiet...works well
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the price I did not install this.....an experience plumber did. He didn't seem to have any problems with the installation. It was done in an hour with the plumber working efficiently. This unit replace the one which came with the house (new construction in 1992) and developed a leak (metal body corroded and water was sloshing out). I selected this unit after initially going for a cheaper model/brand. I saw the words "Made in China" on the box and thought "why can't I buy something made in the USA". The plumber happened to have a box for this model (he was using the box to hold tools). Made in the USA! Sold. This unit is more compact; has a hi-tech plastic body and is VERY quiet. I am pleased. No idea how long it will last, but the plumber said it is made to a higher quality standard than the cheaper model I had initially selected.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insinkerator Evolution Compact garbage disposal I had an Insinkerator Badger model from when the house was built. This unit is a tad larger, but it uses the same drain mount. The only thing I had to do was use a hacksaw to shorten the length of the outlet connection to the drainline. The operational noise level is also significantly reduced.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet operation, relatively easy to install I have been using my new Evolution Compact food waste disposer for approximately one month. I am quite pleased with its operation. It is used maybe two or three minutes per week. The installation was easy, except for trying to get the "InSinkErator" name to be "centered" at the "top" (12-o-clock position) of the flange. As I would perform my final tightening it would rotate maybe 5-10 degrees. Next time I have it loosened I will try to remember to position it 5-10 degrees beyond "12-o-clock" so that when I perform the final disposer tightening it will move to the desired position. This is purely a cosmetic matter, and does not affect the fine performance of the disposer.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement garbage disposal Had to replace garbage disposal. So chose Evolution Compact. Not to difficult to install. This garbage disposal is much quieter than the disposal I had. So far so good.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product It does a great job of disposing of food and it is much quieter than our old disposal. It seemed to get quieter after we used it for a little while. I had a plummer perform the installation.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great disposer Completely pleased with this garbage disposal. Quiet efficient and best yet compact size allows more room under sink,
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I contacted Insinketstor My very old Insinketator needed replacement. I checked the usual on-line sources and then contacted the manufacturer: Insinkerator. My old unit had served me well but was no longer quiet after many years. The reviews read well but mentioned noise. I wanted an easy replacement and I got it. The new one is so quiet I have to remember it is on. I received a discount with free shipping so it was a better acquisition than Amaxon, Home Depot or Lowes. I'm glad I called.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well but Vibrates at Times The unit does a great job of grinding and disposing of usual kitchen wastes. Unfortunately, I've had to deal with serious vibrations at times. These are not only annoying, but disturb any items that may be in the sink. I've checked the installation (completed by a qualified installer), and can find no issues. It seems to be solidly installed.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product runs so quiet, you don't know it's running. Great product, will buy again if this one grows old.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This unit is extremely quiet and will chew up just about anything
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Quiet Recently moved into a 20 year old Condo with open floor-plan. Existing disposal sounded like it was grinding up marbles. Our new Insinkerator Evolution was recommended by our Plumber and we can hardly hear it running when we are standing next to it.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, Powerful, love it! We replaced a Badger 1/2 hp with this Evolution Compact 3/4 hp. So much quieter, about same noise as water running for it! No vibration, grinds foods great. Worth the difference in price. Love it! Plumber only needed 1 slip nut, 1/2 hour.
Date published: 2017-10-20
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_2061
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

When during installation is the sink baffle attached?

Asked by: CandyLand
At the very end, it goes in from above the sink and down. Takes 10 sec to put in.
Answered by: Engoil
Date published: 2017-03-25

Why does the drain rubber point up?

Just installed mine, just wondering why the drain rubber points up. seems like it would be harder to get food into it? I haven't tried yet
Asked by: Long
You have it upside down. Turn it over.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

When a run my disposal there is a lot of vibration. This just started a couple months ago!

The disposal still is grinding but the vibration shakes both my sinks.
Asked by: SusieK
Same problem for us. One of the metal pieces that grinds up the waste had broken--a part that cannot be replaced. Replaced the entire disposal. Problem solved!
Answered by: Shoulders52
Date published: 2017-04-08

Does the Evolution Compact use a smaller size stopper versus the standard size disposers?

I need to order a stopper for the compact but feel the opening appears smaller than the norm and would require a slightly smaller stopper. Is this correct? Is there a part number I could get?
Asked by: mrs4148
The stopper for our new one was the exact same as our previous Insinkerator model.
Answered by: richjh
Date published: 2017-05-06

When during the installation does the sink baffle get installed?

Asked by: CandyLand
After installed, just slide into opening. Removable when needed.
Answered by: TWISTEDWHIG
Date published: 2017-05-13

My Evolution Compact was very quiet. It still works but is making noise.

Asked by: Alresidue
You might have something stuck in it. Look very carefully inside the top and look for anything that might not belong. Could be something steel or plastic and may be a small piece. If you have to remove the unit to look do that but do not turn it on, disconnect or unplug the unit before removing or putting anything in it.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-05-27

was getting the usual sound when I push the button "on" and after using wrench to unjam now when I push the on button nothing happens

Asked by: doodlebug
You probably have a foreign object, i.e. spoon, knife in the disposal.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

Why will dishwasher not drain when hose is connected to the disposer?

I replaced a badger model disposer with a Evolution Spacesaver model. Now the dishwasher will not drain when the hose os connected to the disposer. If I disconnect the dishwasher drain hose from the disposer it will drain with no problem.
Asked by: Greenjeep
Sounds like you didn't punch out the plug in the fitting where the dishwasher drain hose attaches to the disposer. Reread the installation instructions.
Answered by: Sambo913
Date published: 2017-02-04

can you instal this without a wall button, just a top activated?

Asked by: yann
No, it requires power connected to an outlet, with switch to activate. Always run water while in operation.
Answered by: ruukasu0808
Date published: 2017-01-14

where do i find the size demensions

Asked by: eductor
If you didn't save your previous manual, look at your disposal and you will get the info you need.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

How wide is the mouth at the top of the disposal?

Does it fit with any size sink opening?
Asked by: litlmisundrstd86
Just about 3 1/4 inch wide at the top, and It fits the standard Kitchen sink drain opening, 3 1/2 inch diameter.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-05-27

Can you come straight out of the tail pipe to the discharge line and not use the 90?

Asked by: Trudy
Yes you can as long as it lines up. There is no pipe attached.
Answered by: ooley
Date published: 2017-02-18

Yesterday, the water in the sink started to drain very slowly, as if a drain is clogged. What should I do?

The only thing I can think of that might have clogged it was some cooked kale (about 1 cup) I ground recently. Should I use a chemical drain clog remover?
Asked by: Callie
remove the connection to the drain at the disposer. probably hair,strings, fat or other stuff right there blocking the drain.
Answered by: hairy
Date published: 2017-03-18

need partfor 3/4 HP compact

INSINKERATOR EVOLUTION 3/4 HP. I need a anti vibration tail peice mount,where can I buy one???
Asked by: DARTTARI
Home Depot, or at least they should be able to point you in the right direction. They have always been a GREAT help to me in the past.
Answered by: Pete55
Date published: 2014-02-15

My insinkerator Evolution Compact is leaking at the tailpipe mount area.

The tailpipe mount appears to be cracked, but I think that the discharge from the container body/motor joint is also causing problems. It looks like the discharge is now misshapen.
Asked by: St3v3
Sounds like your flex coupler cracked (75499 Flex Coupler for InSinkErator Evolution Series Disposer, Flexible Rubber Coupling, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount)
Answered by: JoshInPortland
Date published: 2017-01-07

where can I get a replacement Quiet Collar Sink Baffle?

It is an evolution spacesaver model
Asked by: Jackyone
You should be able to get a new baffle at any hardware store or home improvement store. Or you could try online sites.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-05-27

We had unit installed by Home Depot, but they failed to place the S/N info on unit. How can we check warranty?

Asked by: golflady
I had to find the serial number on my unit in order to register the product. It is on the unit - thank God for cell phones. There is a metal plate on the disposer. Take a picture of the unit and expand the picture to read the serial number.
Answered by: Meg69
Date published: 2017-05-13

can this model handle banana skins

Asked by: GregL
Yes
Answered by: Alaskan
Date published: 2017-05-06

LOUD intermitent BANGing...

Grinds and disposes of waste properly, motor spins freely, nothing visible in chamber,no leaks,and has never tripped the reset button,,, but the loud banging keeps my wife from using it. Sounds like it is coming apart inside but the unusual thing is, the bang is not constant, meaning it is not a steady ryhtymic banging, it can happen at start up or after a few seconds. We have had this product aprox 11 months. And with this being one of your "better" product lines we are highly dissatisfied with the product,especially if you consider the cost of the "evolution" series Please Help
Asked by: Krul1
Did you properly remove the plug from the disposal that is there for the dishwasher line? Sounds like you have something in the disposal.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE COMPACT AND THE COMPACT PRO

Asked by: SAFEJUNK
1 in shorter and 1 inch smaller in diameter, as well 3/4 HP compared to 1HP
Answered by: ChicagoRunner
Date published: 2016-02-17

The outlet gasket connecting to my drain pipe has ruptured.

How can I purchase a replacement? This is a Insinkerator piece! I need one immediately! Thank you! Tom
Asked by: tomd
You should be able to find a replacement at any hardware store or Home improvement store. You may have to take the old one in to be sure it is the same size.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-05-27

What is the diameter of the flange opening? I want to confirm the size of opening i need in my sink bowl.

Asked by: tk1234
The unit fits to the standard size sink opening
Answered by: DThiems725
Date published: 2017-05-20

what minimum clearance is required between the bottom of the disposal and the bottom of the cabinet?

very deep sink leaving little room for the disposal
Asked by: lawebs
From bottom of sink to bottom of unit is 13". You would need a few more inches to maneuver I suppose.
Answered by: Gnd60
Date published: 2017-02-25

Why won"t the garbage grind and dispose?

The motor runs, the teeth turn, water flows freely, but the garbage won't grind up. We tried cleaning with baking soda and water solution with no help. Unit is 4 years old.
Asked by: Professor
Sounds like the impellers might be hung up. They should be loose on their pins.
Answered by: Hatter
Date published: 2016-11-19

What is the peak Amperage of the Evolution Compact disposer?

Asked by: Mike101
8.1 per the insinkerator web page
Answered by: mvpmich
Date published: 2017-09-30

Comparison between Evolution Compact and Evolution Essential

I searched in vain for a direct comparison of your individual models, then compared the pdf spec sheets for these two. It looks like the only differences are a smaller grind chamber and a shorter in-home warranty (4 years versus 6). The space savings seems to be 3/4" in diameter and 1/2" in height, which produce the smaller grind chamber dimensions. Are there any other differences between these models? Thanks- Bob
Asked by: TheBob
I believe that if you go to the Home Depot website you can choose the two that you are interested in and click on 'compare'. It will bring up a chart with the two you selected and you can see which one fits your needs. Hope that this helps!
Answered by: Red1944
Date published: 2016-02-17

Water doesn't drain completely from the disposer after it's used.

We're told this is due to the disposal being lower than the drain piple. Is there any chance that replacing the current disposal with a compact model would make a difference by raising the level of the disposal? This came up during a kitchen remodeling.
Asked by: rabbit
I had that problem with my old insinkerator. The exit on the new Evolution Compact was slightly higher than the old one and it solved the problem.
Answered by: Hatter
Date published: 2016-11-19

Is the home depot evolution select a comparable model to this?

I currently have a badger 1 and it needs to be replaced. Home depot sells the evolution compact but it is not sold in their stores for some reason. They do have the evolution select in stores. Would this be a comparable model to the badger 1 that I currently have?
Asked by: KPRO
The Badger is junk. The stainless Evolution I bought is a one horsepower unit. I made my purchase online. The store didn't carry it
Answered by: BigAl2
Date published: 2016-07-16

can this unit be installed on a fire clay farm sink with the long flange

Asked by: nict
I would imagine that as long as the opening is the same size and the sink is strong enough to support the weight of the disposal you could install it under your sink. It is a very quiet unit with very little vibration.... Will be interested if it works for you. You can contact me through the same place you submitted your question. Hope that this helps you!
Answered by: Red1944
Date published: 2015-08-22

Replacement

Installed 5 years ago a "Space Saver-P(?). S/N 09041683946. Need to buy a new one. Need to buy a unit that matches with the existing mounting ring; new mounting ring to difficult to install. Recommend a disposal. Compact size important.
Asked by: Eugen
Go to Home Depot, they will solve your problem.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_87
  • loc_, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT