Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

Evolution Compact Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}

Evolution Compact Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}
Select an Option:
214.00
In Stock
Out of Stock

The Evolution Compact® garbage disposal is perfect for small households and houses with restricted cabinet space.

The space saving design provides a perfect fit for smaller households or families who don't cook as much. The InSinkErator Evolution Compact garbage disposal is powerful enough to grind foods such as potato peels and carrot peels, while still delivering quiet performance versus a standard disposal.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • SoundSeal® Technology delivers quiet performance versus a standard disposer
  • MultiGrind® Technology delivers two stages of grind and allows you to more efficiently grind difficult food items like bones
  • 3/4 Horsepower Dura-Drive® Induction Motor is engineered to specifications used for appliance motors, provides quiet operation and long life
  • 34.6 oz. Grind Chamber and Stainless Steel Grind Components for durability
  • Made in the USA
  • InSinkErator 4-Year We Come To You® In-Home Full Service Limited Warranty Covers parts and labor
  • Quick Lock® Sink Mount allows for easy installation and disposer replacement

Specifications

Type of Feed Continuous
On/Off Control Wall Switch
Motor Single Phase
HP 3/4
Volts 120
HZ 60
RPM 1725
Amp. (Avg. Load) 8.1
Time Rating Intermittent
Lubrication Permanently Lubricated Upper & Lower Bearing
Shipping Weight (Approx.) 19.5 lbs.
Unit Finish Black Enamel/Gray
Overall Height 12-1/8"
SoundSeal Technology Anti-Vibration Mount™, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount™, Quiet Collar™ Sink Baffle, Multi-Layer SoundLimiter™ Insulation
MultiGrind Technology GrindShear Ring®
Grind Chamber Capacity 34.6 oz.
Motor Protection Manual Reset Overload
Average Water Usage Approx. 1 Gallon Per Person Per Day
Average Electrical Usage 3-4 KWH Per Year
Drain Connection 1-1/2" Anti-Vibration (Hose Clamp)
Dishwasher Drain Connection Yes

Reviews / Q&A

Evolution Compact is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1573.
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1573
  • loc_en, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Obnoxiously loud! I bought this unit because of the claims it would be quiet. I have had several different disposals over the years and this is by far the loudest!!! I hate it!! It grinds well but I don't use it because of the noise. I paid a plumber $100 to install it and he was surprised. I would not recommend this brand of disposal.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is efficient and quiet. Works great. I just replaced an older insinkerator disposal with this one. and learned that the metal plate/screws used to hold the hose to the disposal was designed differently in the newer model. The new model has a spring clip to hold the hose to the disposal which vibrated loose and caused a good sized leak under my sink and weakened the cabinet floor. I sent an email to Insinkerator and your customer service rep replied by phone advising that unless I was willing to send it back to insinkerator for testing there would be no compensation for the disaster that occurred at my place. Obviously, not worth the trouble of uninstalling/installing the disposal to have it tested. Otherwise a great product.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Evolution Compact is so much better than all the others disposals I have had. It is power full and quite and simple to in stall. It is nice!!
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was very easy to install! Works great, much quieter than our last one. Thought about getting the 1hp, but very happy with the 3/4hp
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's the Garbage Disposal of All Garbage Disposals What can I say about this garbage disposal that hasn't already been said. It's quiet; it grounds food and it's very sexy.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works well in my small kitchen. I don't use it often but I like having a waste disposal in my sink for food scraps. I had the larger model in my former kitchen which worked well for me.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super quiet! This Evolution Compact is SUPER QUIET compared to our previous Insinkerator (2005.) Love it!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great disposal I was replacing an Insinkerator Badger so the installation was very very simple. Great disposal and very quiet. Gets the job done right!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I replaced an old Kenmore disposal for this insinkerator product and have been very satisfied thus far (has been installed for around 4-6 weeks). I was incredibly surprised by the ease of installation. In addition, I replaced a 1 hp with a 3/4 hp, and I have yet to notice a difference. We use the disposal for common, everyday food scraps generated from a family of four (no coffee grounds, bones, anything like that). The product is super quiet and efficient. Also, I was very appreciative that this is an American company and the item is made in America. I strongly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well and quiet A great buy. Quiet running. This was the first time I ever replaced a disposal and it went pretty smooth. Directions were good.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Very quiet and powerful. I would suggest using a small scissor jack (car jack works) to hold disposal in place to secure locking ring. I recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well and is very quiet This appliance was plumber installed and he did it quickly and easily. The disposal runs so quietly compared to the old one, my wife though it wasn't working. I put a long stalk of celery in it and it certainly is working. Quite content with it.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet!!! The unit works great. It is so quiet that we have to double check to see that it's running.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is working great Easy to install and seems to be worth the money, and the system is very quiet.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quiet running We've had our In SinkErator disposal for about a month now with no problems and it is much quieter than the one we had previously.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I purchased this one. The innsinkerator is quiet and not noisy as my previous bargain garbage disposal. Really love the 4 year warranty. Perfect size for our small under cabinet kitchen space.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied I do like my new food disposal. It is quiet. Takes a little prodding to get peelings into it.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We've had Insinkerator before! When our previous Insinkerator finally gave up after 26 YEARS, we got another one. According to my husband it wasn't the easiest thing to install, but not bad. At first it started out kinda noisy but after running water on it for just a few minutes it got quieter and quieter. We've now had it a little over a month and it's so much more quiet than our old one. You won't go wrong ordering one of these, they are definitely WELL WORTH IT!
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stainless interior, low sound and easy to install We chose this product as a replacement for an earlier model InSinkErator based on the stainless steel interior parts and the ease of installation. The low sound level during operation is another big plus. Installation was as easy as advertised and the compact unit takes up less cabinet space than its predecessor with a more powerful motor. This kitchen has a mix of hard and softened water so the stainless steel components are important to us; time will tell if these hold up without corrosion issues. We are delighted with the quality and performance of the unit to date.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food waste disposer is super quiet, I love it! This food waste disposer is very quiet and efficient. The price is very appropriate for the high quality and performance of this disposer.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was easy to install Product was easy to install and so far it has not malfunctioned. This unit replaced the same unit which had a problem of leaking soon after it was installed.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is very quiet This disposal was easy to install. It is the quietest one I've ever used. I could arely tell it was running
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth Running Sounds like a Rolls Royce starting up meaning an assuring hum rather than a disturbing grind. No problems so far and don't expect any.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product We love our new garbage disposal. It is quiet and efficient; everything we were hoping for and more.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet operation! Great product! Grinds up everything I throw into it with ease.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Significant Upgrade I remodeled my kitchen, new countertops, etc., so I decided to upgrade my disposer unit. My old unit was InSinkerator, too. This one is so much quieter and does a better, quicker grinding job. Great buy!
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect replacement Purchased this to replace 18 year old insinkerator model. Perfect fit half turn on collar, old one gone new one in place.. Grand daughter ran rocks through old one, still worked even with hole in side.This new one is so much quieter than old one. Probably the last one I will have to purchase.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So quiet, works well. Nothing like buying a used house and having to replace a lot of things the first year, but I'm glad I made this upgrade. It is so much quieter and does a great job. I installed it myself (a 37 year old woman that is pretty handy). Had to adjust drain a little bit, but was pretty easy.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product fairly easy to install quite compared to my 10 year old insink was easy to install and came in quick
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very quiet disposer Very happy with how quiet this is. But...it doesn't appear very heavy duty and I do not like how slowly my sink drains now even when I am not using the disposer. Wished I'd known that would be a consequence of making the disposer so quiet. Can't really speak to the ease of installation because we paid to have a plumber install it. He had no complaints; it took him about 45 minutes.
Date published: 2017-04-04
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1573
  • loc_en, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Why does the drain rubber point up?

Just installed mine, just wondering why the drain rubber points up. seems like it would be harder to get food into it? I haven't tried yet
Asked by: Long
You have it upside down. Turn it over.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

When a run my disposal there is a lot of vibration. This just started a couple months ago!

The disposal still is grinding but the vibration shakes both my sinks.
Asked by: SusieK
Same problem for us. One of the metal pieces that grinds up the waste had broken--a part that cannot be replaced. Replaced the entire disposal. Problem solved!
Answered by: Shoulders52
Date published: 2017-04-08

Does the Evolution Compact use a smaller size stopper versus the standard size disposers?

I need to order a stopper for the compact but feel the opening appears smaller than the norm and would require a slightly smaller stopper. Is this correct? Is there a part number I could get?
Asked by: mrs4148
The stopper for our new one was the exact same as our previous Insinkerator model.
Answered by: richjh
Date published: 2017-03-02

When during the installation does the sink baffle get installed?

Asked by: CandyLand
After installed, just slide into opening. Removable when needed.
Answered by: TWISTEDWHIG
Date published: 2017-03-13

My Evolution Compact was very quiet. It still works but is making noise.

Asked by: Alresidue
You might have something stuck in it. Look very carefully inside the top and look for anything that might not belong. Could be something steel or plastic and may be a small piece. If you have to remove the unit to look do that but do not turn it on, disconnect or unplug the unit before removing or putting anything in it.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-03-24

was getting the usual sound when I push the button "on" and after using wrench to unjam now when I push the on button nothing happens

Asked by: doodlebug
You probably have a foreign object, i.e. spoon, knife in the disposal.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

Why will dishwasher not drain when hose is connected to the disposer?

I replaced a badger model disposer with a Evolution Spacesaver model. Now the dishwasher will not drain when the hose os connected to the disposer. If I disconnect the dishwasher drain hose from the disposer it will drain with no problem.
Asked by: Greenjeep
Sounds like you didn't punch out the plug in the fitting where the dishwasher drain hose attaches to the disposer. Reread the installation instructions.
Answered by: Sambo913
Date published: 2017-02-04

can you instal this without a wall button, just a top activated?

Asked by: yann
No, it requires power connected to an outlet, with switch to activate. Always run water while in operation.
Answered by: ruukasu0808
Date published: 2017-01-14

What is considered a Small Bone that is OK to put in the Evolution Compact?

Hi, It says in your guide that small bones is recommended for use in the Evolution compact. Would all parts of the chicken classify as a small bone (Thigh Bone, Leg Bone, etc?) What about bones from Pork Chops, or Lamb Chops or Lamb Racks? Pork Baby Back Ribs? I would like to grind bones but want to make sure that I don't put something in that could damage or clog the machine. Thanks
Asked by: Zao154
I have put chicken leg bones in my disposal with no problems
Answered by: Boobala
Date published: 2017-03-05

where do i find the size demensions

Asked by: eductor
If you didn't save your previous manual, look at your disposal and you will get the info you need.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

How wide is the mouth at the top of the disposal?

Does it fit with any size sink opening?
Asked by: litlmisundrstd86
Just about 3 1/4 inch wide at the top, and It fits the standard Kitchen sink drain opening, 3 1/2 inch diameter.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-03-24

Can you come straight out of the tail pipe to the discharge line and not use the 90?

Asked by: Trudy
Yes you can as long as it lines up. There is no pipe attached.
Answered by: ooley
Date published: 2017-02-18

Yesterday, the water in the sink started to drain very slowly, as if a drain is clogged. What should I do?

The only thing I can think of that might have clogged it was some cooked kale (about 1 cup) I ground recently. Should I use a chemical drain clog remover?
Asked by: Callie
remove the connection to the drain at the disposer. probably hair,strings, fat or other stuff right there blocking the drain.
Answered by: hairy
Date published: 2017-03-18

need partfor 3/4 HP compact

INSINKERATOR EVOLUTION 3/4 HP. I need a anti vibration tail peice mount,where can I buy one???
Asked by: DARTTARI
Home Depot, or at least they should be able to point you in the right direction. They have always been a GREAT help to me in the past.
Answered by: Pete55
Date published: 2014-02-15

My insinkerator Evolution Compact is leaking at the tailpipe mount area.

The tailpipe mount appears to be cracked, but I think that the discharge from the container body/motor joint is also causing problems. It looks like the discharge is now misshapen.
Asked by: St3v3
Sounds like your flex coupler cracked (75499 Flex Coupler for InSinkErator Evolution Series Disposer, Flexible Rubber Coupling, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount)
Answered by: JoshInPortland
Date published: 2017-01-07

where can I get a replacement Quiet Collar Sink Baffle?

It is an evolution spacesaver model
Asked by: Jackyone
You should be able to get a new baffle at any hardware store or home improvement store. Or you could try online sites.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-03-24

We had unit installed by Home Depot, but they failed to place the S/N info on unit. How can we check warranty?

Asked by: golflady
I had to find the serial number on my unit in order to register the product. It is on the unit - thank God for cell phones. There is a metal plate on the disposer. Take a picture of the unit and expand the picture to read the serial number.
Answered by: Meg69
Date published: 2017-03-09

can this model handle banana skins

Asked by: GregL
Yes
Answered by: Alaskan
Date published: 2017-03-01

LOUD intermitent BANGing...

Grinds and disposes of waste properly, motor spins freely, nothing visible in chamber,no leaks,and has never tripped the reset button,,, but the loud banging keeps my wife from using it. Sounds like it is coming apart inside but the unusual thing is, the bang is not constant, meaning it is not a steady ryhtymic banging, it can happen at start up or after a few seconds. We have had this product aprox 11 months. And with this being one of your "better" product lines we are highly dissatisfied with the product,especially if you consider the cost of the "evolution" series Please Help
Asked by: Krul1
Did you properly remove the plug from the disposal that is there for the dishwasher line? Sounds like you have something in the disposal.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE COMPACT AND THE COMPACT PRO

Asked by: SAFEJUNK
1 in shorter and 1 inch smaller in diameter, as well 3/4 HP compared to 1HP
Answered by: ChicagoRunner
Date published: 2016-02-17

The outlet gasket connecting to my drain pipe has ruptured.

How can I purchase a replacement? This is a Insinkerator piece! I need one immediately! Thank you! Tom
Asked by: tomd
You should be able to find a replacement at any hardware store or Home improvement store. You may have to take the old one in to be sure it is the same size.
Answered by: Plbrgene
Date published: 2017-03-24

What is the diameter of the flange opening? I want to confirm the size of opening i need in my sink bowl.

Asked by: tk1234
The unit fits to the standard size sink opening
Answered by: DThiems725
Date published: 2017-03-18

what minimum clearance is required between the bottom of the disposal and the bottom of the cabinet?

very deep sink leaving little room for the disposal
Asked by: lawebs
From bottom of sink to bottom of unit is 13". You would need a few more inches to maneuver I suppose.
Answered by: Gnd60
Date published: 2017-02-25

Why won"t the garbage grind and dispose?

The motor runs, the teeth turn, water flows freely, but the garbage won't grind up. We tried cleaning with baking soda and water solution with no help. Unit is 4 years old.
Asked by: Professor
Sounds like the impellers might be hung up. They should be loose on their pins.
Answered by: Hatter
Date published: 2016-11-19

Comparison between Evolution Compact and Evolution Essential

I searched in vain for a direct comparison of your individual models, then compared the pdf spec sheets for these two. It looks like the only differences are a smaller grind chamber and a shorter in-home warranty (4 years versus 6). The space savings seems to be 3/4" in diameter and 1/2" in height, which produce the smaller grind chamber dimensions. Are there any other differences between these models? Thanks- Bob
Asked by: TheBob
I believe that if you go to the Home Depot website you can choose the two that you are interested in and click on 'compare'. It will bring up a chart with the two you selected and you can see which one fits your needs. Hope that this helps!
Answered by: Red1944
Date published: 2016-02-17

Water doesn't drain completely from the disposer after it's used.

We're told this is due to the disposal being lower than the drain piple. Is there any chance that replacing the current disposal with a compact model would make a difference by raising the level of the disposal? This came up during a kitchen remodeling.
Asked by: rabbit
I had that problem with my old insinkerator. The exit on the new Evolution Compact was slightly higher than the old one and it solved the problem.
Answered by: Hatter
Date published: 2016-11-19

Is the home depot evolution select a comparable model to this?

I currently have a badger 1 and it needs to be replaced. Home depot sells the evolution compact but it is not sold in their stores for some reason. They do have the evolution select in stores. Would this be a comparable model to the badger 1 that I currently have?
Asked by: KPRO
The Badger is junk. The stainless Evolution I bought is a one horsepower unit. I made my purchase online. The store didn't carry it
Answered by: BigAl2
Date published: 2016-07-16

can this unit be installed on a fire clay farm sink with the long flange

Asked by: nict
I would imagine that as long as the opening is the same size and the sink is strong enough to support the weight of the disposal you could install it under your sink. It is a very quiet unit with very little vibration.... Will be interested if it works for you. You can contact me through the same place you submitted your question. Hope that this helps you!
Answered by: Red1944
Date published: 2015-08-22

Replacement

Installed 5 years ago a "Space Saver-P(?). S/N 09041683946. Need to buy a new one. Need to buy a unit that matches with the existing mounting ring; new mounting ring to difficult to install. Recommend a disposal. Compact size important.
Asked by: Eugen
Go to Home Depot, they will solve your problem.
Answered by: Alvie
Date published: 2017-03-25

I currently have a Badger 1(1/3 horsepower) Can I replace it with any of the evolution series

Asked by: BobM
Yes all disposal brands have same mounts Very simple swap out
Answered by: Tomorrow
Date published: 2016-06-25
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_81
  • loc_en, sid_050375006794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT