Select a Country
  • {{country.Text}}
Select a Language

Evolution Excel Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}

Evolution Excel Garbage Disposal

Item # {{catalogNumber}}
374.00
In Stock
Out of Stock

The Evolution Excel® garbage disposal is for those who enjoy the very best kitchen appliances. The ultimate in performance - nothing grinds more with less noise.

InSinkErator Evolution Series disposals represent the highest standard in performance. Simply put, they are the best grinding, quietest line of disposals we have ever made.

Show Less
Read More

Features

  • SoundSeal® Technology delivers Ultra-Quiet performance allowing you to hold a conversation with normal voices in the same room
  • MultiGrind® Technology delivers three stages of grind; you can stop worrying about what food you can/cannot put in your disposer
  • 1 Horsepower Dura-Drive® Induction Motor is engineered to specifications used for appliance motors, provides quiet operation and long life
  • Jam-Sensor® Circuit automatically increases torque to break through tough jams
  • Auto-Reverse grind system technology automatically reverses grind direction
  • 40 oz. Stainless Steel Grind Chamber and Components for durability
  • Assembled in USA with American Pride
  • InSinkErator 7-Year We Come To You® In-Home Full Service Limited Warranty Covers parts and labor
  • Quick Lock® Sink Mount allows for easy installation and disposer replacement

Specifications

Type of Feed Continuous
On/Off Control Wall Switch
Motor Single Phase
HP 1.0
Volts 120
Reversing Auto-Reverse Grind System™ feature
HZ 60
RPM 1725
Amp. (Avg. Load) 10.2
Time Rating Intermittent
Lubrication Permanently Lubricated Upper & Lower Bearings
Shipping Weight (Approx.) 25.5 lbs.
Unit Finish Stainless Steel Light Gray TEN-1706
Overall Height 13-1/2”
SoundSeal Technology Anti-Vibration Mount™, Anti-Vibration Tailpipe Mount™, Quiet Collar™ Sink Baffle, Multi-Layer SoundLimiter™ Insulation
MultiGrind Technology GrindShear Ring™, Tri-Action Lug System™ feature, Undercutter Disk™, Jam-Sensor Circuit™
Grind Chamber Capacity 40 oz.
Motor Protection Manual Reset Overload
Average Water Usage 1/4 Gallon Per Person Per Day
Average Electrical Usage 1/2 KWH Per Month
Drain 1-1/2”
Anti-Vibration Connection Hose Clamp
Dishwasher Drain Connection Yes

Reviews / Q&A

Evolution Excel is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1812.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1812
  • loc_, sid_050375006817, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So quiet Very powerful and quiet. I never liked a garbage disposal in the past but this one works the way I envision they are supposed to work.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and quiet This unit is very powerful and very quiet, my wife loves it.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Very quiet, space saving and powerful food waste disposal.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great waste disposer! It is powerful but also reasonably quiet. much quieter than our last one.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet Because of Squat Design I had an InSinkEratkr for too many years to count and it wad the on demand type. I decided to get the switchable type this time. Right choice with so much power and super quiet because of the broad body design.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet and an excellent product It is worth the extra cost for the sound proofing and dependability of the extra horsepower.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HUGE AND HEAVY, BUT CHEWS UP EVERYTHING I bought this as part of a kitchen redo. When it arrived, I realized how big and heavy it was and became worried that it would not hold up. But, the granite installer assured me that the new sink (quartz) would hold the disposal. Then my plumber showed up and groaned. But, he went to work and got it installed under my sink and tested it multiple times with him lying on his back under the sink and me turning the switch off and on and it didn't waiver one bit. If you have an item like mint that won't go down well, just throw a couple of ice cubes into the disposal and it cleans out what hasn't gotten through. The ultimate test will be this summer when my septic maintenance team is scheduled to clean out the system.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet I wanted a very guiet. This disposal is just what I wanted.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results so far!! The prior Insinkerator was more than twenty years old and caused clogging. The new product is quieter and infinitely more efficient. I will remain delighted unless things.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product delivers as advertised Very quiet. Strong. Excellent choice. Easily grinds lemon rinds.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quite It is almost hard to tell if it is on, so make sure you have your hear aids in and on. My parents got this for me and my Mom swears by it. I would not like her put potato peels or anything questionable down the standard one as I had been there done that before and it was a mess. I was still leery at Christmas dinner putting the potato peels down it, but no problem. Mom says it will do chicken bones too, I don't know about that nor do I think I will try that.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenominal Product!!!!! This is the best unit we have ever owned. It is virtually silent and grinds everything you throw its way!!! Excellent product and well worth the extra $$$ you pay.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best and Quietest This is really a great garbage disposal. It is powerful, sleek, and very quiet. We have been through some disposals and this is well worth our purchase dollars!
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet. Easy to install as lomg as plumping pipes are at the right level. Smaller than other models. Quiet. Vibration are well handled.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Smaller than the old one it replaced, but stronger and quieter.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is good for small family size I bought this product due to good reviews. My garbage disposal lasted for 3 years but it’s still under warranty. So I called customer service about the problem I end up with new replacements. Good customer and prompt delivery.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful piece of equipment. The Insinkerstor was easy to install and can quickly dispose of a large amount of garbage in seconds. Powerful and beautiful piece of equipment. My only suggestion would be to include stopper that allows water to flow through while disposal runs. I purchased one separately.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Replaced the same model. That made it an easy installation. I always get the 1 hp because it is almost bullet proof. That much power means less strain on the motor and makes it jam free. Well worth the extra investment. My only complaint, if you want to call it that, is that there should be a tear away red tag reminder on the dishwasher side inlet connection on the unit. I had hooked it up but almost forgot to knock that hidden plug out. Had to take the unit back down and knock it out. That would have made a mess if I had not realized that and ran the dishwasher.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and is extremely quiet. Surprised how easy installation was and then when I used it to clean up after a big dinner I was impressed with how efficient and quiet it was.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to intalled installation was not as difficult as I thought. took me less than 3 hours from opening box until running dishwasher and testing. off course, it could have taken less with a plumber, however, it would have cost me another $75/hour and he/she has an assistant. I did it myself!!! My only assistants were 5 old medical books that I used to support Unit under sink (they finally came in handy for something)!
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet ,auto reverse,1hp motor When I first tried installed the insinkerator I had a little trouble installing the insinkerator at first but was a minor detail but after that I got it installed and tried it works well it’s quiet and with the 1 Hp motor and Auto Reverse is awesome I love the way it work it was well worth the price o paid for it .
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the Best Truly there is no better disposal than this. Not only does the 1HP grinder take on just about anything you can throw at it, but it really is so quiet that I have to sometimes question if it's really on! Easy to self install, super quiet, you can't go wrong!
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing what 21 years will do to improve an already good design I bought this disposer to replace a 21 year old (then) top of the line Sears Kenmore unit, which was obviously made by in-sink-erator. Back then I thought the old unit was a huge improvement over the typical disposals in use. However, the evolution excel is another leap over even that in terms of quiet and vibration suppression. I am nothing short of amazed.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely quiet and powerful too. Such a difference from my previous garburator when all conversation had to stop while it was on. This insinkerator is very quiet and operates very efficiently. It does what it says it will do.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Disposal I bought an Evolution Excel in 2007. It gave up the ghost after 10 years. Insinkerator was nice enough to give me a discount from their online store for a new Evolution Excel. My new Evolution Excel unfortunately had a bad bearing and made a horrendously loud noise when running. I called Insinkerator about this and they had a warranty replacement installed for me within 48 hours! The warranty replacement unit works fine. This really is a quiet disposal as disposals go. And powerful. Our original Evolution Excel never jammed on us.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Replaced the old one hp incinerator 777 with the excel evolution. Has a problem with what the plumber said is a delayed start. A two or three second before the machine kicks in after I press the switch. More than that, I put in a slice of lime and it did not grind it up. It is supposed to grind up ribs etc. dissatisfied to say the least.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Disposal... This unit is so quiet! We had it installed by our plumber as he was here for another matter so can't comment as to ease of installation. Our last disposal was so loud that the dogs barked every time it was being used, this one is almost whisper quiet. Have only had it installed for 3 weeks so can't yet speak about its durability. However, so far so good. I would definitely recommend...
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very quiet Replaced old insinkerator. The old disposal lasted 22 years.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best my disposal had been going downhill for some time -- I didn't realize how bad until I got the new sinkerator. It is great -- the best!
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment for your Kitchen Sink! We knew we needed a new garbage disposal. And we had planned to make the purchase in December 2017. But... something very unexpected happened... The old Insinkerator, seven years old, exploded on the thirtieth of October 2017. So I did my research and determined the way my husband cooks and cleans that we would need the best one we could get our hands on!!! So I purchased the top of the line. Installation was difficult... until I got a brilliant idea in my head --- use one gallon paint cans, (2), to fit the Insinkerator just and inch and one half from the bottom of the drain bracket. Then the installation was a breeze. The purchase of this garbage disposal was the right one to do.
Date published: 2017-12-02
  • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1812
  • loc_, sid_050375006817, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

can cockroaches climb through the disposal from the pipe up to the sink? does the disposal prevent smell coming up from the pipe?

Asked by: happyernest
Check your P-trap installation!
Answered by: Scrutchmo
Date published: 2017-04-01

is there a reset button

last time I used the disposal all was fine, today absolutely nothing - no noise, no anything.......
Asked by: dijohn
It most likely overheated and popped the thermal breaker. Make sure it's off, and push the red button on the bottom. If that doesn't work, check the plug.
Answered by: rabidrobert
Date published: 2015-08-15

Top (visible) grinders change directly at each turn on?

Just installed the new Evolution Excel. Runs, is very quiet. I noticed that it pauses for a moment before turning on with a slight hum. Once it kicks into operation the grinders start turning. Then the next time I turn it on it has the same pause and then the grinders start, but in the opposite direction. Is this normal?
Asked by: NolanK
Mine does the same thing, so it must be normal.
Answered by: RogerRamjet
Date published: 2017-05-20

Is there a reset button? My unit just stopped; how do I get it to run? It's 3 yrs old.

We remodeled our kitchen and I cannot find the owner's manual.
Asked by: uberto
should be on the bottom of unit.
Answered by: Roger54
Date published: 2017-05-06

Can I use a standard wall switch to operate instead of the air switch

Asked by: Ktjam95
Most everyone uses the wall switch (that controls the outlet under the sink). This is the recommend method for the Evolution Excel which does not come with an air switch.
Answered by: DocS
Date published: 2017-10-14

What accessories do you need to purchase for installation (eg. Power cord, dishwasher connect)?

Asked by: CJohns
You need to buy an additional on/off switch or button. It doesn't come with a switch and I had to buy it separately for USD $45.00
Answered by: walden88
Date published: 2014-02-22

can I grind banana peels? what kind of bones? steak bones? turkey bones? melon skins?

Asked by: newgrinder
I always stay away from grinding stringy foods such as banana peels, celery, corn silk, etc. I tore apart a brand new disposal that had been used to try to grind corn silk. Quite a job, but I got it done. Lesson learned and we've avoided grinding stringy foods since. Grind an orange or lemon peel once a week and disposal smells great!
Answered by: SMDinAZ
Date published: 2017-02-25

is this single phase and 115v?

Asked by: jkshinn
Yes
Answered by: Richard790
Date published: 2016-11-05

Increased Vibration & Noise

My garbage disposal just started vibrating more than usual and also it's a somewhat louder now. It's only been doing this for the past couple of days. It is only about 2 1/2 years old. Please advise.
Asked by: ReginaA
Check all of your drain pipes and ensure there isn't any binding. You can purchase a disposal drain pipe kit for about $14 if you determine this is your problem.
Answered by: rslong110
Date published: 2017-05-13

French Press Coffee Grinds

Hi I don't have a garden to dispose of my coffee grinds in but I would like to know that I can dispose of them in my Evolution Excel on a regular basis? Running cold water, turning on the disposal, and then disposing of the grinds and letting the water and disposal run a little longer after grinding should be okay? Is that correct? Thank you!
Asked by: Seek
Should not be a problem as long as you run lots of water. We put everything in ours, even grease. But make sure you run hot water with grease long enough to clear your lines, otherwise the grease can congeal and clog. That's why the manufacturers always tell you not to use hot water. But hot cleans everything out the best, as long as you let it run awhile.
Answered by: Shunkster
Date published: 2017-04-29

COFFEE FILTERS O.K. TO GRIND?

It''s hard to empty coffee grounds into the disposal. Can I just put the filter with the grounds in the disposed & grind it up? I have a new Evolution Excel.
Asked by: NewUser
I would never attempt to grind the filter along with the coffee grounds. We've had no issue disposing of the grounds alone. It's easy to rinse the filter to rid it of the grounds, so why tempt fate?
Answered by: Mcmuffy70
Date published: 2015-10-17

how to turn on the disposal

Asked by: larchmont
It has to be wired to switched power. Typically there is either a switched plug under your sink or wiring to hook up to it directly to a switch. They sell a power cord kit seperatley to allow you to plug it in.
Answered by: Zak37
Date published: 2017-05-06

What finish does the flange have?

What finish is on the flange that ships with the unit? Is it chrome, or polished stainless?
Asked by: RoyceA
Polished Stainless Steel.
Answered by: DocS
Date published: 2017-10-14

Can a sink top air switch be used on the Excel?

I have just installed the Excel, which is performing well so far, but there is nowhere on the unit for the air switch hook up. We had the hole drilled in the countertop when the house was built, so don't want to be left looking at that! There is nothing in the instructions showing that the air switch can be added. Maybe I'm missing something. Thanks
Asked by: Rodmills
Insinkerator makes an air switch in either a single or dual plug. The air switch plugs into a regular outlet and the disposal plugs into the switch. Then there is a vacuum tube from the air switch to the counter top button that controls on and off. The button comes in many different finishes. Very easy to install by an individual.
Answered by: Eweneek1
Date published: 2016-11-19

I will be buying two disposers for a newly remodeled kitchen. What accessories do I need for the instalation?

The two disposers I plan to purchase are: In-Sink Erator excel with cord In-Sink Erator evolution Essential with cord. What extras do I need to purchace for the instalation? Thank you. Jose Ulloa
Asked by: Osita
You will not need any additional accessories as long as you're replacing an old disposal. I highly recommend purchasing a disposal drain pipe kit that's only around $14 to ensure all drain pipes are aligned and bind-free.
Answered by: rslong110
Date published: 2017-05-13

Hums, no spin, but everything turns freely

All of a sudden, the Excel hums when switched on but nothing happens. I can freely turn the flywheel and there is nothing caught that I can see... Any help would be much appreciated. thanks!
Asked by: JohnC
JohnC, Had the same issue. Called the company - check your literature that came with the unit - they first gave me the name of a local service tech, who gave me the run-around. Your local service guy may be better. I called the company again and suggested they send me a new unit, which they did. I removed the old unit and installed the new one in less than an hour. Very easy installation - especially since I had never installed one before.
Answered by: sandmanHC
Date published: 2017-01-21

Can you grind coffee grounds?

Just purchased the Evolution Excel and I love it. However I want to make sure that I'm using it correctly. Thanks!
Asked by: Prudence
You can and I don't believe it will hurt your disposer. I would be more concerned about it creating a blockage in your p trap and clogging your line. We always just dump them in the trash or outside if you compost.
Answered by: Doug1221
Date published: 2015-06-27

For use on septic...

I've always been told you cannot use a disposer with a septic system. Of course there's a model with an enzyme injection system. But I'm wondering what the issue is to begin with? We are a family of 4. 2 adults, 2 kids. Our tank was installed in 1966...I'm guessing it's 1000 gallons, single compartment, no effluent filter. Basic setup. We have it pumped once every 2 years. Been living here for 15 years. No issues. We are remodeling our kitchen and are going to install the Evolution Excel. I want to be able to grind anything and everything (except we won't go to the length of grinding bones...that just doesn't seem right). If we're already sending body waste and toilet paper down to the tank, what's the problem with sending ground up food? Isn't it basically the same thing? (In terms of texture...maybe not the same in terms of decomposition since human waste's already got a head start). I can't see the point in getting a disposer that's got the liquid. If you have to spend $20 four times a year, might as well just have the tank pumped yearly. It's the same cost. Thoughts????
Asked by: Metalnath
We've used a disposer with our septic tank for 25 years. Never have had any issues. We have it pumped every other year but that is more due to having 5 women in the house than the disposer. We never add any chemicals or enzymes to the tank and frankly don't do anything to the tank other than pumping. I'd say you're safe from personal experience.
Answered by: Doug1221
Date published: 2015-06-27

Describe the 3 stages of grind in the Evolution Excel

The Excel is described as having MultiGrind technology with three stages of grind. But the cutaway drawing in my manual shows only the grind chamber with the 2 impellers and no additional grind chambers or parts. Can you give more detail on the Excel MultiGrind, describing how it differs from your other models (or other manufacturers)?
Asked by: DennisF
Their website has a few good videos to help here.
Answered by: MVandG
Date published: 2017-11-13

Where is the reset "button"? I have the wrench but do not know where to apply it.

Asked by: Clark
Both are on the bottom of the unit
Answered by: TommyB
Date published: 2015-08-01

where is the serial number located on evolution excel model?

Asked by: suebear
There was a paper tag with the Serial Number on it. It was either on the side of the back of the unit. We moved it to the front where it would be easily visible if it were needed later.
Answered by: randy485
Date published: 2016-10-29

connection to 220v

the prudact have switch on the garbage disposal or the need to buy a transformer to convert him from 110v to 220v ?
Asked by: yoel
There is no switch to convert.
Answered by: Kallisto
Date published: 2015-06-20

What stopper is included with the Evolution Excel?

Does this model include a stopper?
Asked by: Ericp
My unit came with the baffel that allow water to drain but keeps noise down and food from flying up when disposal is running. Also came with a stopper that fits into the top part of disposal to prevent water draining from sink, if you want to fill the sink basin with water for washing dishes. However, have never used the stopper so cannot comment on how water tight the seal would be.
Answered by: lisam
Date published: 2016-09-17

Can I grind onion skins, celery stalks and parsley stems?

Asked by: Sisso
I was told when I called customer service that with the Evolution Excel I could grind just about anything including avocado pit.... however don't have courage to try it...with the exception of bigger bones such as turkey.... I do grind onion skins and celery and parsely egg shells, potato peels.... I have been doing this for the past 2 months and everything is just fine..................... I just love it
Answered by: Doris
Date published: 2015-05-16

Smells and no drainage

my Evolution is making a humming noise, the blades are turning, but it's not sucking water through the system. Also, there is an oder emanating from the unit that smells like sewer/garbage, etc. Obviously something is not working correctly. Please advise.
Asked by: steveco99
check the output line. maybe stopped up.
Answered by: Roger54
Date published: 2017-05-06

Hi, Our disposer cannot be turned off when using the power button. It starts working but not turning off! Anyone knows how to fix this probelm?

Asked by: Majid
Make sure that the outlet that it's plugged into can be switched on and off with a switch.
Answered by: Hamer4Tyme
Date published: 2016-07-16

How does the auto reverse feature

Asked by: AMoe
Each time you turn it on, the unit automatically reverses direction to equalize wear on grinding mechanism, thus maintaining grinding efficiency for a longer period of time. Additionally this feature helps to minimize jamming.
Answered by: Rick123
Date published: 2016-07-02

Cover Control on a Evolution Excel

Hi, Can i install a cover control (CCPA-00 Adapter Kit) on the Evolution Excel ? is this supported by insinkerator? this because the "InSinkErator Evolution Cover Control Plus Garbage Disposal" is to wide in size, the compact variant is to noicy and the Excel fits regards, Sander
Asked by: Sander
perfect fit
Answered by: bigdaddyinflorida
Date published: 2017-11-13

What is the diameter of the flange opening? I want to confirm the size of opening i need in my sink bowl.

Asked by: tk1234
Traditionally the openings are all the same in kitchen sinks the only difference between kitchen sinks would be the thickness of the the sink which is taken into consideration with this disposal with detailed instructions and parts.
Answered by: Bluemoon07
Date published: 2017-04-01

Our insinkerator pro excel s/n 0609 1532622 hums but will not turn. what can we do?

Asked by: Hutch
must be something down in it holding it back. remove from the sink and you can see down in the top. look for something, maybe small.
Answered by: Roger54
Date published: 2017-05-06
  • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_100
  • loc_, sid_050375006817, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_insinkerator
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT